In March 1956, jazz trumpeter Louis "Satchmo" Armstrong and his All-Stars played a concert at the Mosque, along with Woody Herman and his Third Herd. Ticket prices were $1.50, $2 and $2.50. Four days later, the Mosque was scheduled to host two shows by an emerging star, the day before his self-titled debut studio album was released. His name: Elvis Presley.

In July 1950, heavyweight boxing legend Jack Dempsey came to Richmond as a headline attraction for a different event: He was referee of a wrestling match. He stayed at the Hotel John Marshall, which was certainly more peaceful than City Stadium -- not having lost a punch over the decades, the 55-year-old got involved in the match there and knocked out the tag team partners Dick Lever and Wally Dusek.

South Richmonders had this view of a Dec. 24, 1951, fire on North Side at the F.L. Parsley storage plant on Rady Street. Three fuel oil and kerosene tanks caught fire, sending black smoke across much of the city. More than 100 firefighters were needed to stop the blaze, which threatened a nearby stream, coal yard and other properties. When the owner of neighboring fuel tanks was told that his were saved, he called it "the nicest Christmas present ever."

In January 1957, the University of Richmond's Boatwright Memorial Library created a vivid reflection in Westhampton Lake. Students were in the middle of exam week at the time.



Several stories below the clock itself, four small balconies jut out from the clock tower on Old City Hall in downtown Richmond. In February 1957, building supervisors looked out from the platforms, which once were public observation spots.

NAACP officials Thurgood Marshall (left) and W. Lester Banks made their way to a General Assembly meeting on Feb. 20, 1957. In the years after the Supreme Court's 1954 Brown v. Board of Education ruling, Virginia engaged in Massive Resistance to oppose school desegregation.

A view of East Broad Street in downtown Richmond on a cloudy day in October 1954. The distinctive Old City Hall, with its High Victorian Gothic style, is at left, bounded by 10th and 11th streets. The building is a National Historic Landmark.

On March 11, 1952, American poet Robert Frost chatted with students Anne Holmes (left) and Beverly Gilbert at a reception that followed his address and poetry reading at Westhampton College. Two months earlier, he addressed the Woman's Club in Richmond.

In October 1957, Queen Elizabeth II visited Jamestown to mark the 350th anniversary of the nation's first permanent English settlement. The trip, which featured a 21-gun salute upon her arrival at Patrick Henry Airport, included a visit to Williamsburg and the College of William and Mary. The queen returned to Virginia in 2007 for Jamestown's 400th anniversary.

In April 1952, Betsy Marrin and Doris Bolton admired the springtime blooms in the Italian Garden at Maymont Park. In May of that year, during Park and Recreation Week, Maymont opened a nature center in what had been a stone and brick stable.

In March 1957, actor Robert Mitchum stopped in Richmond -- though not for reasons related to his role in the film "Heaven Knows, Mr. Allison," which was playing at local theaters. He had visited Virginia weeks earlier to scout for movie locations, and he was returning to the state to interview promising actors with the Barter Theatre in Abingdon.

On April 8, 1952, the Brooklyn Dodgers stopped in Richmond for an exhibition game, and in the dugout at Mooers Field, star player Jackie Robinson caught up with Don Newcombe. The pitcher-turned-private won 20 games for the Dodgers the previous season but traded his baseball uniform for a military one: He was in basic training at Camp Pickett for two years of Army duty during the Korean War. (In the game, Duke Snider and Gil Hodges homered to lead the Dodgers to a 4-1 win over the Boston Braves.)

In April 1952, Eleanor Brown, a student at Brook Hill School, donned a bunny suit for the Richmond Easter Parade. Local public schoolchildren celebrated with egg hunts and early dismissal for the Easter festivities.

In September 1953, lightning flashed over South Richmond during a storm that brought heavy rain and stiff wind to the city.

In May 1950, motorcyclists raced in the 10-Mile National Motorcycle Championship at the Atlantic Rural Exposition grounds in Henrico County. The winner was “Little Joe” Weatherly of Norfolk, who later turned to stock car racing and won NASCAR titles in the 1960s before being killed in a race accident in Riverside, Calif., in 1964.

In November 1951, workers constructed a new lane on Monument Avenue in Henrico County. The truck was occupying what used to be the front yard of a house in the 6500 block. The road was being widened for divided lane traffic in the block between Bevridge Road and Roxbury Road.

In May 1956, area residents enjoyed a refreshing swim in the James River — a reprieve from record high temperatures during the spring month.

In July 1950, women lounged on a floating platform at a swimming hole that was once a quarry. Starting in the 1800s, the area near what is now Willow Oaks was occupied by a large number of granite quarries. As they closed and were allowed to fill with water, they became popular recreation spots.

In November 1953, a 10-block section of Monument Avenue between Horsepen Road and Keystone Drive in Henrico County began carrying eastbound and westbound traffic on separate sides of the median. About 20 signs were erected to let motorists know that they no longer shared a single side. The change was in anticipation of expanding the configuration to begin at the city limits.

In March 1956, a full house at the Arena in Richmond watched the State Group 1 high school basketball tournament. Admission was $1 per game for adults and 50 cents for students. Newport News High School won the tournament.

On April 9, 1955, the Boston Red Sox topped the New York Giants, 5-2, in an exhibition game seen by more than 12,600 spectators at Parker Field in Richmond. Pictured are center fielders Jimmy Piersall from Boston and Willie Mays of New York. (To that point, only a 1954 exhibition between the New York Yankees and Richmond Virginians drew a larger crowd.) Willie Mays (right) and Jim Piersall April 9, 1955

In January 1955, a snowy slope at Forest Hill Park in Richmond came to life on a cold afternoon. Sledders turned out after school and stayed late on hard-packed snow. Two days before, a snowfall that officially measured 7.6 inches had fallen – it was the most since 1948.

In February 1952, Gene Autry performed shows at the Mosque that included singing, Native American dances, trick-roping and Autry’s famous horse, Champion. Here, Autry met 7-year-old J. Harvie Wilkinson III, now a judge on the 4th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, who wore his best Western outfit for the occasion.

In September 1952, Gen. Dwight D. Eisenhower was on a whistle-stop tour of Virginia and North Carolina in his campaign for the presidency. Here, he greeted a crowd of 25,000 from his train in Petersburg, the last stop before heading to Richmond for his sixth speech of the day.

In July 1950, heavyweight boxing legend Jack Dempsey came to Richmond as a headline attraction for a different event: He was referee of a wrestling match. Dempsey passed through town the day before the event, and for a bit of relaxation, he got a scalp massage from George Dunn in the Hotel John Marshall barbershop.

This April 1951 image shows the Richmond skyline as seen from the south end of the Lee Bridge. The span in the foreground was a small automobile bridge to Belle Isle, mainly used by employees working on the island. The bridge was largely washed away in rains from the remnants of Hurricane Agnes in 1972, and now only the supports and a small portion on the island remain.

On Nov. 3, 1950, Nobel laureate and Pulitzer Prize-winning author Pearl S. Buck addressed the Virginia Teachers Association and Virginia Education Association in separate sessions; the VTA was a black organization. Regarding segregation, she suggested that “in later years we will find teachers of all races meeting here together.”

On Oct. 27, 1953, retired middleweight boxing champion “Sugar Ray” Robinson headlined two shows at the Mosque. Robinson turned to dancing and singing when he stopped boxing in 1952 but resumed fighting in 1955 when his entertainment career waned. During his show in Richmond, he was backed up by Count Basie's orchestra and completed no fewer than five costume changes.

In May 1954, swimmers cooled off on a hot day at Granite Quarry in Chesterfield County. Starting in the 1800s, the area near what is now Willow Oaks was occupied by a large number of granite quarries. As they closed and were allowed to fill with water, they became popular recreation spots.

On July 11, 1950, part of the ceiling of the Park Theater at 810 E. Broad St. collapsed during a showing, injuring 17. The theater, which reopened a month later after repairs, had a long history. It opened as the Lubin in 1909, became the Regent briefly in 1916 before changing name to the Isis in the same year. After closing in 1929, it reopened as the Park in 1938, then closed again in 1953.

On June 13, 1951, a tornado struck Richmond, causing massive damage in its 4-mile path of destruction --including a truck crushed by a fallen tree at Belvidere and Franklin streets downtown.

In November 1954, Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother visited Richmond on a U.S. tour. Before a crowd of about 6,000 people at Capitol Square, Gov. Thomas B. Stanley escorted her into the Capitol for a tour.

In September 1953, two boys surveyed the William F. Fox School, which they were ready to attend within days. The Richmond school, on Hanover Avenue in the Fan District, was dedicated in September 1911.

This May 1950 image shows Swift Creek Mill in Chesterfield County. Now home to the local theater, the site was built in 1663 as a gristmill and changed hands and functions many times over the centuries, according to the theater's history. In 1929, operating again as a gristmill, the property became known officially as the Swift Creek Mill and remained in operation until 1956. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

In October 1957, U.Va. faced Virginia Tech in the Tobacco Festival football game at City Stadium in Richmond. Here, Virginia's Jim Bakhtiar (feet in air) rolled into the end zone in the first quarter for the first of his four touchdowns. The Cavaliers trounced the Gobblers 38-7.

In March 1950, a surprise 5-inch snowfall covered Richmond and kept traffic on the slushy Lee Bridge moving slowly.

In January 1958, an explosion at Merchants Ice & Cold Storage Co. at Sixth and Byrd streets in downtown Richmond killed seven people and shattered windows up to seven blocks away. Firefighters were quick to the scene but had to retreat as a cloud of ammonia, leaking from refrigeration equipment, hovered over the destruction (there was no fire). In December, a jury decided that the city was at fault, as evidence pointed to a leaking underground gas main.

In February 1956, “Teen Age Party,” a televised music and dancing show for the younger crowd, was broadcast on Saturdays from the WRVA Theatre in downtown Richmond.

In January 1959, protesters marched through the rain to the state Capitol in Richmond to support school integration. In the midst of the state’s Massive Resistance to the Brown v. Board of Education ruling, protests were mounting across Virginia. Richmond schools were not integrated until 1970.

In early December 1954, Richmond got an early dose of winter, with 2 inches of wet snow and record cold temperatures. The cold made clearing the streets difficult, which led to three-hour delays for some commuters. Here, a city flusher washed snow and slush from Broad Street downtown. Four such vehicles were put to work to clear city streets.

In November 1957, three stores opened for business in Southside Plaza, then part of Chesterfield County. They were (from left) Giant Food, Peoples Drug Store and G.C. Murphy Co. The formal grand opening of the shopping center was held in March 1958.

In April 1959, three boys tried out a homemade car on the lawn of the Memorial Guidance Clinic in Highland Park in Richmond, which provided a weekday residential program. The youth psychiatric facility, one of 10 original child guidance clinics in the United States, was formed in 1924 to help families who could not afford care. In 1971 it suspended operations because of staffing problems, then reopened in 1972 on Church Hill with a new focus on outreach. The organization is known today as ChildSavers.

This May 1959 image shows construction along Patterson Avenue between Libbie and Maple avenues in Richmond. This block had just reopened to traffic, but ongoing work continued to block passage to the east of the shopping center.

In September 1958, a yard full of bicycles made clear that classes were back in session at Westhampton School in Richmond. The school dates to 1917; in late 2013, Bon Secours Virginia Health System announced plans to renovate the complex for use as a nursing college and medical imaging school.

In May 1958, Bill Shockley of Greenville, S.C., spun out in an eight-lap midget auto heat on the half-mile dirt track at the State Fairgrounds. About 1,800 spectators turned out for the day’s racing, which featured a 25-lap final race.

In September 1959, Jimmy Harrison gave some friends a ride to school in his antique car. The student at Douglas Freeman High School in Henrico County spent his entire summer vacation rebuilding the car.

In March 1959, Donnie and Bobby Alvis enjoyed the first days of spring in Richmond with appropriate seasonal company: a baby lamb and new blossoms.

In June 1958, Reynolds Metals Co. employees Ethel Blue (left) and Bonnie Foy enjoyed some sun at the company’s new office space in Henrico County. The $10 million complex sprawled over 40 acres on a 160-acre property. Reynolds spent more than $150,000 on landscaping, including more than 10,000 trees, shrubs and plants as well as a green house that supplied fresh flowers for the building.

In January 1958, Judy Moss, a Hermitage High School freshman took a spin on roller skates as she practiced her routine at the Arena, a roller-skating rink at Boulevard and Hermitage Road. At the time, Judy was one of the most promising skaters in the Richmond area and was working to master some of the most difficult tasks of the rink.

In September 1958, a bridge that was part of a Belvidere Street extension project near Chamberlayne Avenue in Richmond neared completion.

In April 1959, the Town Motel had just opened at Belvidere and Rowe streets near the Virginia War Memorial in Richmond. The motel had 26 units, and nightly rates began at $5.

In July 1958, George Richardson of Richmond glided along the Rappahannock River in his yacht, Hummingbird. The vessel, which he used for cruises on the Rappahannock and Chesapeake Bay and for fishing trips, was part of the Richmond-based Flotilla 51, a Coast Guard auxiliary unit.

In February 1958, a line of vehicles moved along Chamberlayne Avenue at Lombardy Street on Richmond’s North Side. The passenger in the first car waved excitedly to the photographer in the median; the ad banner on the bus reads “Big Color TV is Here.”

In June 1959, cars filled the parking lot at Parker Field as about 6,500 people watched the Richmond Virginians split a double-header with the Buffalo Bisons and retain the lead of the International League. The local baseball team drew more than 18,500 fans in total for single games on Friday and Saturday and the Sunday double-header.

In January 1958, this horse and wagon raced through the streets of Church Hill in Richmond before stopping after hitting a car. Horse owner Chester C. Sully said he was making a coal delivery when the horse got startled by a noise and took off on a five-minute gallop, which ended around Jefferson Avenue and 23rd Street, where the wagon broke the car’s windshield and left rear window.

This June 1958 image shows buildings at Fifth and Marshall streets in downtown Richmond that were soon to be razed to make way for a parking lot. The buildings to be demolished were to the right of Diggs & Beadles Seed Co. Inc.

In August 1942, white visitors enjoyed a day at Wilcox Lake in Petersburg. The swimming facility was segregated, and the lake was closed by the city in 1958 to prevent integration. It was never officially reopened for swimming (though in the 1960s, fishing was permitted at the lake).

In September 1958, a Chesterfield County farmer welcomed the sight of rain clouds, though they didn’t yield any rain. The area was enduring a three-week dry spell at the time.

In October 1958, a street-widening project continued along Patterson Avenue in Richmond’s West End. The 5600 and 5700 blocks had been closed since early August; the full project called for widening Patterson between Maple and Commonwealth avenues.

In May 1958, Richmond Mayor F. Henry Garber crowned Grace Jacqueline Allen as Miss Virginia during a ceremony at the Jefferson Hotel downtown. In addition to winning a trip to the Miss Virginia contest in Roanoke the next month, Allen received a silver bowl, a $200 scholarship, jewelry and cosmetics. She was a student at the Richmond Professional Institute.

In January 1964, Jewell Mason, one of Richmond’s few female cab drivers, chatted with her husband, Otha, who also drove cabs. Mason, who started working for the Yellow Cab Co. in 1958, said she never had issues because of her gender. But she did note that women drivers were unjustly maligned: “Women are as careful as anyone else,” she said.

In July 1959, Phyllis Grove (from left), Alta Strickland and David Fridley analyzed cigarette smoke using a gas chromatograph at Philip Morris in Richmond. A story about area laboratories and scientists noted that medical concerns about smoking had spurred the tobacco industry. It said, in part: “The cancer-cigarette link may be pretty poor science, as some say, but it is indirectly producing some very good research.”

In January 1958, traffic moved through the intersection of Grace and Belvidere streets in Richmond. At the time, police called it was the most accident-prone intersection in the city.

In March 1959, postman Sam H. Mellichampe delivered mail in a long line of boxes at a trailer park near Petersburg. He said the row of mailboxes was the longest on his route. Mellichampe previously was a sergeant for 10 years on the Prince George County police force.

In December 1959, the Seventh Street parking garage in downtown Richmond was the largest of 54 properties, valued collectively at about $1.2 million, that were slated for condemnation by the city as part of plans to build a civic center.

In February 1959, the parking lot was full at the new Food Fair grocery store on West Broad Street in Richmond, near downtown. The chain, founded in Pennsylvania, was one of the largest in the country at the time and was planning a half-dozen or more stores in the Richmond area. (The grand opening here was supposed to feature retired Army Gen. Omar Bradley, who was on Food Fair’s board of directors, but he instead had to appear as a witness at a trial.)

In May 1959, Ronald Yaffe performed a levitation magic trick. Yaffe, a 19-year-old freshman at Richmond Professional Institute, planned to study optometry but enjoyed performing magic as a hobby.

In October 1958, chemists Owen R. Blackburne (left) and Bill Simmons distilled volatile acids at the Richmond Sewage Disposal headquarters near Rocketts Landing.

In March 1959, employees of the Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles on West Broad Street in Richmond prepared for an onslaught of customers before doors opened for business.

In November 1959, Mrs. Frank L. Jobson (seated) and Adele Clark admired a banner for the Equal Suffrage League of Virginia, which they helped form 50 years earlier in Richmond. Women won the constitutional right to vote in 1920 – “and neither of us has missed an election since 1920,” Clark said.

In May 1958, Homer E. Pate, whose arms and legs were paralyzed, worked in leather craft as part of his rehabilitation. With him was Margaret Williams, an occupational therapist at McGuire Veterans Administration Hospital in Richmond.

This July 1955 photo shows the view from Richmond’s Chimborazo Hill at twilight, looking across Fulton and the James River. The photo accompanied a “Capital Sidelights” column by Charles McDowell Jr. that promoted the sunset views from the hill.

In May 1952, new policewoman Martha S. Jackson placed one of her first tickets on an illegally parked car. Jackson, one of Richmond's first full-fledged female traffic officials with full police authority, was tasked with pedestrian education and enforcement when the “walk/don't walk” lights began operation on Broad Street, as well as car tagging and intersection assignments.

In April 1952, Know-Your-Bank Week activities in Richmond included behind-the-scenes tours for bank customers and school students. Here, students from Thomas Jefferson High School were given a look inside the State-Planters Bank and Trust Co. vault by assistant cashier Ramon G. Smith. Gov. John S. Battle first designated such a week in 1950.

In August 1950, Richmond City Clerk William T. Wells (left) swore in attorney Lewis F. Powell Jr. as member of the Richmond School Board. In 1971, Powell was nominated to the U.S. Supreme Court by President Richard M. Nixon, and he served from 1972 until resigning in mid-1987. Powell died in 1998 and is buried in Hollywood Cemetery.

On April 14, 1951, the Deep Run races were held at the Atlantic Rural Exposition fairgrounds, now known as the Richmond Raceway Complex. The co-feature was the Richmond Plate race, a 2-mile course that Crown Royal led over the first jump before finishing third, eight lengths behind winner Flying Wing.

In April 1951, W.H. Childress’ coonhound won best of breed at the Virginia Kennel Club’s 17th annual dog show at the Atlantic Rural Exposition fairgrounds. The club was first organized in October 1902, and while it put on some shows before 1935, it did not begin a consistent schedule until then.

In September 1950, the Cary Street resurfacing project was approaching completion. As part of a larger resurfacing and repair project across the city, Cary was repaved with blacktop between Belmont and Nansemond streets by Richmond’s Department of Public Works.

This December 1951 image shows the “Tummyache” persimmon tree in the back of Retreat for the Sick Hospital at Grove Avenue and Mulberry Street in Richmond. According to the story, in about 1922, the 6-year-old son of a preacher-farmer in Powhatan County kept eating persimmons one day until he developed a stomachache and was brought to the hospital. A doctor removed about a pint of seeds from the child’s stomach – and then planted one, which became this tree.

This April 1951 image shows St. Andrew’s School in Richmond’s Oregon Hill area. Noted philanthropist Grace Arents founded the school in 1894 and was a key supporter of St. Andrew's Episcopal Church. The school offered a wide range of programs, including sewing, music and physical education. It still stands today, serving low-income children.

In October 1950, Virginia Randolph attended the cornerstone-laying ceremony for a $262,000 addition to the former one-room schoolhouse in Glen Allen that she started in 1892 and that was named for her. In 1949, Randolph retired at age 79 from a long career that encompassed teaching and supervising teacher training and curriculums for black schools in the Richmond area. Randolph, whose efforts focused heavily on vocational education, died in 1958.

In July 1954, the boys choir sang in All Saints Episcopal Church, which was then on West Franklin Street. The following year, the church decided to move to River Road; the former building has since been torn down.

In late summer 1951, the Chesapeake and Ohio Railway ran its first diesel-powered locomotives through Richmond on two of its passenger trains. Here, train engineer Mr. Denton got orders from stationmaster Mr. Boykin. By the end of the year, the company hoped to have most of the steam locomotives in its line replaced with diesel-electric ones.

This October 1956 image shows Tobacco Row at Dock Street, where many cigarette manufacturers were located. Tobacco planters and shippers started building facilities in Richmond in the 1600s. The brick buildings that stand there today were built in the late 1800s to early 1900s. The tobacco companies had moved out by the late 1980s, and today the old buildings have been converted mainly to retail and residential space.

This November 1956 image shows Richmond disc jockey Alden Aaroe, who started in radio in 1938 and landed his signature morning show on WRVA in 1956. He stayed with WRVA until 1993, just several weeks before his death.

In October 1953, Mary Workman (holding music stand), better known as Sunshine Sue, sang with her band. From 1946 to 1957, Workman was host of the popular “Old Dominion Barn Dance” music radio show, broadcast nationally on Saturday nights on WRVA from the Lyric Theater in downtown Richmond. The program helped launch the careers of several country music stars.

In April 1950, some children took a rest and got a drink from a fountain in North Richmond located along the Richmond Henrico Turnpike. This fountain, between Dove and Vale streets just off the turnpike, is still standing, though the lion heads have since been removed and the fountain has been painted.

This December 1950 image of East Broad Street at Fifth Street in downtown Richmond shows crowds of holiday shoppers visiting such stores as Baker's, Peoples Drug, Swatty's Pants, Haverty's Furniture and Raylass Department Store.

This December 1950 image of East Broad Street at Fifth Street in downtown Richmond shows crowds of holiday shoppers visiting such stores as Baker's, Peoples Drug, Swatty's Pants, Haverty's Furniture and Raylass Department Store.

This November 1951 photo from the 3100 block of West Cary Street shows Lord's Furniture and Hofheimer's shoe store. That fall, Hofheimer's offered Stride Rite children's shoes - “gas-filled balloons with every pair!” - for $4.50 to $7.95. (The location, in what is now called Carytown, is occupied by Can Can Brasserie.)

In April 1950, Roscoe Turner (right), famed speed flier who helped develop Richmond's original Byrd Field, shook hands with Adm. Richard E. Byrd, for whom the field is named, at the dedication of Byrd Airport's new terminal building. Richmond Mayor Stirling King joined them.

In May 1950, Richmond celebrated Park and Recreation Week with a series of events, including an art carnival, puppet shows and concerts. Square dancing for all ages on the Byrd Park tennis courts was a highlight of the week.

In October 1950, the Benedictine Cadet Corps adopted new uniforms. Father Andrew (from left), Benedictine's principal, inspected Maj. Wesley Rhodes in the old West Point style top and Col. Alfred Moss in the new, shorter Eisenhower jacket. At the same time, cadets changed to Navy pea jackets as a top coat - the previous style, an Army-type mackinaw that was made at the state penitentiary, was no longer available.

In April 1951, a little girl met a Great Dane as the Virginia Kennel Club held its 17th annual dog show at the Atlantic Rural Exposition fairgrounds. The club had a longer history, having been first organized in October 1902. While it put on some shows before 1935, it did not begin a consistent schedule until then.

In July 1951, Office of Price Stabilization regulations were posted at the Thalhimers department store. The regulations were enacted because a surge in demand for goods after the start of the Korean War caused a rapid rise in prices. The office was closed in April 1953.

On Aug. 28, 1950, Richmond's first black firefighting unit took charge of Engine Co. 9 at Fifth and Duval streets. Capt. J.G. Forristal, seated beside the driver, remained head of the station, and white members who waved to their colleagues were transferred.

A June 1950 image of the Grand Theatre at 620 E. Broad St. The theater opened in 1917 as the Bluebird, and in 1933, it reopened as the Grand, specializing in grindhouse and B movies. From 1940 until it closed in 1963, it was the home for western movies in Richmond.

In November 1950, City Council was set to consider a request to abandon the stretch of 23rd Street between Cary and Dock streets, partially occupied by the railroad tracks seen in the distance. A food broker that owned adjacent property wanted to buy the land to expand its warehouse. This land today houses part of the parking deck for The River Lofts apartments.

In April 1952, no players were in sight at the Byrd Park tennis courts. Richmond endured five days of rain, with an official total of 3.82 inches falling. The James River reached flood stage, and while that was enough to cover docks, the rains finally relented.

In April 1951, photographer Ewing Krainin was in Richmond to take a series of pictures for a national magazine. He enlisted the aid of the fire department and its tallest extension ladder to get fresh angles on historic landmarks, including the Robert E. Lee statue on Monument Avenue.

In November 1950, a multifaith Thanksgiving service was held at Monument Methodist Church, located at Allen and Park avenues in Richmond. Just days after the service, the church suffered a devastating five-alarm fire – the following year, the congregation was part of a merger that formed Reveille United Methodist. The damaged building was restored and is now occupied by Community Church of God in Christ.

This February 1952 image shows the High's Ice Cream store at 2410 E. Broad St. High's operated a number of stores in Richmond and had a plant on West Broad Street - its opening-day special in 1932 was buy one Big Cone for 5 cents, get the second free.

In October 1950, Virginia Randolph helped S.O. Spriggs, worshipful master of East End Lodge 233, A.F. & A.M., lay the cornerstone at a ceremony for a $262,000 addition to the former one-room schoolhouse in Glen Allen that Randolph started in 1892 and that was named for her. In 1949, Randolph retired from a long career that encompassed teaching and supervising teacher training and curriculums for black schools in the Richmond area. Randolph, whose efforts focused heavily on vocational education, died in 1958.

In June 1951, amid high temperatures and humidity, Shields Lake in Byrd Park and other pools in Richmond were setting attendance records. Shields Lake was a whites-only public swimming facility that was closed in 1955. City officials cited the high cost of necessary repairs, not court rulings against segregation, and said several new neighborhood pools could be built for less than renovating the lake facility.

This March 1954 image shows Newt, the fire dog at the Henrico County Fire Department’s Station No. 7. The station was formed in 1948 as the Glenwood Farms Fire Department, serving the Mechanicsville Turnpike area. The next year, it was turned over from the Glenwood Farms Civic Association to Henrico County. This March 1954 image shows Newt, the fire dog at the Henrico County Fire Department’s Station No. 7. The station was formed in 1948 as the Glenwood Farms Fire Department, serving the Mechanicsville Turnpike area. The next year, it was turned over from the Glenwood Farms Civic Association to Henrico County.

In December 1952, while baseball Hall of Famer Ty Cobb was in Richmond for sightseeing and duck hunting, he took time to speak to reporters about his recent articles in Life magazine disparaging “modern” baseball as lacking the individual skill his era demanded.

This December 1951 image shows the state Capitol’s west wing, which was added in the early 20th century. A 1951 proposal to expand the east and west wings at a cost of $875,000 was ultimately rejected.

A June 1950 image of Peoples Furniture Store at 514 E. Broad St., where the summer furniture sale included a chaise lounge with mattress for $18.95. From 1896 to 1915, this address housed the Robert E. Lee Camp No. 1 Confederate Veterans Hall. The camp held meetings and parties at this location, while its home for veterans was at Boulevard and Grove Avenue.

This July 1950 image shows McGuire Hall at 12th and Clay Streets in downtown Richmond. It opened in 1912 to house the University College of Medicine, which merged with the Medical College of Virginia the following year. It still houses offices, laboratories and classrooms for Virginia Commonwealth University’s medical campus.

On Sept. 26, 1953, the Virginia Tech football team celebrated its 20-6 win over the University of Virginia in Charlottesville. When Tech coach Frank Moseley benched star quarterback Johnny Dean because of a questionable knee, former punter Jack Williams made the most of his shot at QB, scoring the go-ahead touchdown in the fourth quarter.

This 1950 image shows part of the Bellona Arsenal property in Chesterfield County. Bellona was built in 1816 by the U.S. government as an Army post, and the nearby foundry supplied the military in the antebellum era. In the Civil War, the complex served the Confederacy. The Luck family renovated the remaining buildings beginning in the early 1940s.

This April 1950 image shows a visitor drinking the natural spring water from a fountain at South Richmond’s Fonticello Park, also known as Carter Jones Park. For several decades in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the Fonticello Lithia water company advertised the medicinal properties of the spring water and sold it bottled starting at 20 cents per gallon.

In September 1950, two girls from the Belle Bryan Day Nursery visited Miller & Rhoads in downtown Richmond to see the Dunn Bros. miniature circus – “the biggest little show on Earth,” as it proclaimed itself. The 475,000-piece circus took five men 48 hours to set up on a 60-by-28 foot-table – and seven hours to break down.

In May 1950, three members of the Thomas Jefferson High School cadet corps completed their daily flag ritual.

On Feb. 29, 1956, the Virginia War Memorial was dedicated despite the statue “Memory” still being unfinished. The statue’s head was finally placed on March 13, after which the smoothing process was completed. With the ceiling of the memorial only 2 feet above the top of the head, it was an arduous six-hour process to get the head installed.

This July 1950 image shows the area at the intersection of Axtell and Jesse streets in downtown Richmond. Today, the ramp linking southbound Belvidere Street to southbound Interstate 95 occupies the area.

In January 1951, three young polio patients in iron lungs were transported by truck and train from Roanoke to Richmond, where they could undergo long-range treatment at the Medical College of Virginia Hospital. Pictured are Eddie Shumate, 18, with Rowena Grisso, 16, at the far end; 11-year-old Howard Taylor is not pictured. While multiple precautions were in place, including having extra iron lungs available, the 10½-hour journey went smoothly.

In November 1951, work to improve the 100 block of Broad Street, looking west from First Street, was completed. In addition to resurfacing the road after removing the streetcar tracks, a concrete center strip was added along with updated traffic signals, new street lights and walk-don’t walk signals. The entire Broad Street renovation project stretched from Laurel to 12th streets.

In early October 1952, temperatures reached into the mid-80s, and people around the area found ways to enjoy the unseasonably warm weather. These boys soaked up the sun while fishing at Shields Lake in Richmond. A day later, temperatures dropped into the 60s after a cold front arrived.

In September 1953, members of the Virginia Military Institute football team prepared for the season. From left are guard Frank Boxley, center Fred Poss (in front), quarterback Dave Woolwine, end Wendell Shay, back Charlie Lavery and backfield coach Clark King. The Keydets finished the season with a 5-5 record.

This March 1951 image shows the interior of the City Garage at the old fairgrounds property near Parker Field. From its opening in 1908 until 1954, the facility served as an administration building, Army induction center and Army motor pool before housing the city’s cars. In 1954, the building became The Arena and hosted sporting events, concerts, shows and exhibitions for more than 40 years before being torn down in the late 1990s to make way for Sports Backers Stadium.

In April 1950, the 1st Precinct police station at 17th and East Broad streets faced an uncertain future after the decision to consolidate it with the 2nd Precinct station on Marshall Street. The 1st Precinct station required major repairs and would have cost about $4,000 per year to maintain. The building later was renovated and became a children’s recreation center.

A June 1950 image of the Ann Lewis women’s clothing store at 309 E. Broad St. in downtown Richmond. That year, fall suits were on sale for $11, and dresses for only $5.44.

In December 1951, the Staples Mill Pond froze, giving people the chance to dust off their ice skates and have some fun. The pond was a popular ice-skating spot whenever it froze.

In September 1951, the speed limit on Monument Avenue inside the city was 25 mph. Henrico County had recently reduced the speed limit on its portion of Monument from 50 to 35, and a Richmond News Leader editorial urged the city to raise its limit to match that.

The Oct. 1, 1950, edition of The Times-Dispatch included a photo essay and story on train and car safety. This image of an Atlantic Coast Line diesel locomotive – with Broad Street Station barely visible in the background through fog – illustrated the need for heightened vigilance in bad weather to avoid collisions between trains and cars. The story said there were 122 such accidents in Virginia in 1949, with 23 people killed.

In August 1950, a 10-car accident on the Lee Bridge snarled traffic both ways during rush hour. There was only one minor injury, and none of the vehicles sustained serious damage.

This January 1953 image shows houses on Belvidere Street in Richmond, as seen near Rowe Street, which were to be taken by the city for a proposed war memorial. The row formed the western boundary of a block that city officials were preparing to acquire. The Virginia War Memorial was dedicated in February 1956.

This July 1950 image shows the Haverty's furniture store at the corner of East Broad and Fourth streets downtown. The location opened on April 25, 1946, and specials included a three-piece mahogany bedroom suite for $199.50 and card tables for $3.50 each. (Today, the building is occupied by Sunny Men’s Wear, and the original Virginia greenstone flanking the entry is still visible.)

In June 1951, children played on the Westwood Terrace playground. Some new homes in the development were offered for less than $10,000 that year.

This April 1950 image shows the horse fountain on Shockoe Lane, the small stretch at 13th and East Cary streets that is now referred to as Shockoe Slip. The marble fountain, donated by an anonymous Baltimore woman in 1909 in memory of a Confederate cavalry captain buried in Hollywood Cemetery, still sits in front of The Martin Agency. The inscription: “In Memory of One Who Loved Animals.”

In August 1950, the 176th Infantry of the Virginia National Guard was training at Camp Pickett in preparation for possible duty in Korea. The combat team’s roots included the Confederacy’s 1st Virginia Infantry, which fought with the Army of Northern Virginia.

In November 1957, three stores opened for business in Southside Plaza, then part of Chesterfield County. They were (from left) Giant Food, Peoples Drug Store and G.C. Murphy Co. The formal grand opening of the shopping center was held in March 1958.

In June 1952, trucks loaded with wheat during the harvest season had a long wait – including along the Mayo Bridge – to reach the Cargill Inc. grain elevator at First and Hull streets in South Richmond. About 250 trucks delivered on this day alone, and as many as 85 were lined up at one time. One driver reported waiting eight hours to unload his truck.

In May 1951, Richmond was preparing to raise the daily sanitation tax on street vendors at the Sixth and 17th Street markets from 10 cents per day to 25. The additional revenue would largely offset the $9,300 the city spent to clean the streets annually. Some felt that flower vendors at the Sixth Street market, as pictured here, should not have to pay as much tax, but city officials saw no way under the law to charge them less.

In mid-March 1950, a surprise snowfall hit the entirety of Virginia. While some areas only saw flurries, Richmond ended up with 5 inches, providing a late-winter blanket on Capitol Square downtown and the George Washington equestrian statue.

This June 1950 image shows the Harper’s Department Store at 201 E. Broad St. The store opened in 1933 as The Linen Mart. After closing in 2006, the store was sold to developers who found the contents to be a bit like a time capsule, with items dating back decades – including a men’s leather jacket priced at $10 and a boy’s three-piece wool suit with dress shirt for $4.99. The contents were bought by two local collectors. The building still stands unoccupied.

In July 1952, Lovick Law, sergeant-at-arms for the House of Delegates, had his badges and flowers adjusted by majorettes while attending the Virginia Democratic Convention in Roanoke. Law served the General Assembly from 1944 until he died the night before the opening session in 1960.

In December 1951, frigid temperatures put the Chimborazo Park fountain in a frosty state. The fountain was installed in the East Richmond park’s central circle in 1909 and was illuminated with colored lights at night. It was removed from the park in the late 1950s in a severe state of disrepair.

This May 1953 image shows the old church tower on Jamestown Island. The structure is the only 17th century above-ground building that still stands there. The tower is believed to have been built after the fourth version of the church had been completed in the mid-1600s. Only about 36 feet of the approximate 46-foot tower remain.

This May 1957 image shows the Woolworth’s at Fifth and Broad streets in downtown Richmond. The $1 million building opened in September 1954, and it housed several departments for the nearby Miller & Rhoads, which had an earlier store on the site in the late 1800s. An ad for the Woolworth’s Easter sale offered handbags for $1, records for 99 cents, and cowhide and plastic belts for between 39 and 98 cents.

This May 1953 image shows the First Market building, which was razed in 1961. This site now houses the 17th Street Farmers Market, but its history as a public gathering place and market dates to the 1700s. Over time, it hosted Confederate soldiers, Union troops, political speeches, a police station and religious revival meetings in addition to farmers’ wares.

This February 1953 image shows East Main Street near 10th Street in downtown Richmond, with Rao’s Restaurant on the corner at left.

In May 1950, Lady Wonder, Richmond’s psychic horse, spelled out a greeting when a reporter visited for her latest predictions. First gaining fame by correctly predicting that an underdog would take a boxing title in 1927, the horse was only correct about one prediction in this visit – that 1st District Congressman Edward J. Robeson Jr. would win his next election.

In May 1950, Willie Bradby (left) and Pamunkey Chief Tecumseh Deerfoot Cook checked a shad net on their reservation in King William County. The tribe had a profitable year from fishing, so it made a donation to the Richmond Memorial Hospital building fund in memory of tribe member Charles Bush, who had been killed in World War II. The chief noted that sick tribe members were treated at Richmond hospitals, so the Pamunkey wanted to help the construction effort.

In December 1955, pedestrians scurried across a busy Broad Street at Fourth Street in downtown Richmond as Christmas shopping was in full swing. There were festivities planned all over town, including a party at the SPCA, a television special put on by local labor unions and holiday activities at area hospitals.

In January 1957, Mrs. Hunter Jones hitched a ride behind a ski plane that was visiting Chesterfield County’s Parnell Field, which opened in March 1946 as the first postwar airport in the Richmond area. Located on Bells Road, Parnell Field had two dirt runways, and at its peak, it was home to as many as 30 light aircraft. It closed in 1972.

In June 1955, Central National Bank opened an "auto branch" at Third and Marshall streets in downtown Richmond, a block from the main office. The branch featured drive-in windows, walk-up service and a night depository. The bank had opened a West End auto branch at West Broad Street near the Boulevard in 1948.

In August 1956, Criglersville general store owner Robert H. Gibbs served customer Lindsay Utz while they discussed topics of the day. The store, built in 1917 in Madison County, also served as the community’s post office and telephone collection agent. In this rural area, the store was a community gathering place, with an old 1917 Simmons Giant coal-burning stove to keep people warm.

In April 1950, this coal bin in the Highland Springs High School shop building was cleaned out and converted into a practice room for the school band. The Henrico County school’s band previously practiced in the school basement, which caused a noise problem in classrooms. The shop building was located offsite nearby.

This November 1950 image shows the Sixth Street Market, where the city of Richmond was set to raise rents to be more in line with prevailing rates. Rents at the 17th Street Market also were going up, and the city planned to raise the sanitation tax on vehicles using street space in the market areas from 10 cents to 50.

In September 1956, students at the Grace Arents School, located on Oregon Hill, were among those all over Richmond who participated in a fire drill. The students filed out in an orderly column while a teacher remained at the door to make sure all youths exited safely.

In May 1955, shoppers on Broad Street in downtown Richmond rushed to find bargains at the fourth annual Richmond Day. Deals included winter coats for $1 for early customers, television sets between $1.98 and $19, and a seven-diamond ring for $39. Many stores participated in the sales event, and customers lined up as early as 8:30 p.m. the night before in hopes of getting the best deals.

In August 1951, June Maile showed youngsters from the Belle Bryan Day Nursery how to play “London Bridge is Falling Down” during the nursery’s annual outing at Byrd Park.

In spring 1950, work was scheduled to begin to widen this south end of the North Boulevard railroad overpass. The work was expected to cost about $165,000 and take approximately seven months.

In June 1950, these young ladies cooled off during a heatwave and enjoyed a boat ride on Fountain Lake at Byrd Park in Richmond. From left are Margaret Jones, Betty Evans and Anita Hagopian.

This September 1951 image shows the Bridge at Falling Creek. The granite arch span, most of which can still be seen today, was built in the 1820s – at a cost of just over $2,000. The bridge was retired from service in the early 1930s after a new span began carrying southbound U.S. 1/301 traffic over Falling Creek in Chesterfield County. The bridge was added to the National Register of Historic Places in the 1990s.

This October 1951 image shows Forest Hill Presbyterian Church, with its new attached building at right. The church was organized in 1924 and several years later built its first building on West 41st Street in Richmond. In 1942, it started using an old house at 4401 Forest Hill Ave. for all meetings outside regular services. By 1946, the church received a permit to construct a new building on the site of the Church House.

This July 1950 image shows a crumbling Richmond-Ashland Electric Line viaduct, covered in vines, near Moore Street in Richmond. The structures, which remained after the electric trolley system folded in the late 1930s, had become a nuisance, with chunks of concrete falling off of them at times. It took more than 15 years after this image was taken until the last of the structures was removed.

In September 1954, floats in the National Tobacco Festival parade completed their promenade around City Stadium before the football game between the University of Richmond and Hampden-Sydney College. The festival ran in Richmond from 1949 to 1984 and was a top event in the city during its run. A predecessor festival was held in South Boston before World War II.

This June 1950 image shows the former Westwood Circle in Richmond, a traffic circle at the intersection of North Boulevard, Hermitage Road and Westwood Avenue. In November 1961, a $150,000 project removed the circle, added islands and traffic signals, and diverted some traffic around the busy intersection. City safety official John Hanna called the intersection the “most complicated we have had to redesign and signalize in the past 14 years.”

This April 1955 image shows men dipping for herring in Falling Creek in Chesterfield County. Herring would arrive in rivers in the spring to spawn, and dipping was a popular activity that allowed men to socialize while stocking up on fish that could be salted and eaten through the year.

In December 1953, the new whirlaway, a merry-go-round type of gadget turned by the foot power of dozens of students, was popular at Dumbarton Elementary School in Henrico County. The attraction was part of a new set of playground equipment purchased with $750 donated by the Lakeside Lions Club. Watching the children (from left) were H.F. Taylor, Lions Club president; Joseph Rotella, school principal; and F.M. Armbrecht, chairman of the PTA recreation committee.

This June 1952 image shows one of “Dr. Duval’s pills,” part of a trio of 30-inch granite Turkish cannonballs, in its new location at John Marshall High School at Eighth and Marshall streets in Richmond. After standing for many years on a pedestal in front of Grays’ Armory at Seventh and Marshall, this one was destined to join its two mates at the city Works Department trash heap at the old fairgrounds, where those two had lain missing since World War II until being rediscovered in January 1952. This one was instead saved with a move out of the way of downtown traffic.

This March 1952 image shows a wagon, believed to have been Union Gen. Ulysses S. Grant's during the Civil War, as it was retired to the Army’s Richmond Quartermaster Depot at Bellwood. The wagon was among numerous items being transferred from Cameron Station in Alexandria; it can still be seen at the Army Quartermaster Museum at Fort Lee.

In November 1952, Armistice Day ceremonies were held at the old John Marshall High School in Richmond. Today known as Veterans Day, the 1952 events marked the 34th anniversary of the end of World War I. At John Marshall, the school’s band and color guard took part in the service, and wreaths were placed on two plaques bearing names of former students who gave their lives in the two world wars.

In June 1950, gleeful children left Ginter Park School in Richmond as they were dismissed for the summer months – though they did need to return a few days later for their report cards.

This July 1957 image shows a group of four houses on West Grace Street in Richmond that had been restored recently by St. Luke’s Hospital. Built around 1900, the houses offered the hospital an opportunity to provide a nurses' home adjoining the institution. At a cost of $73,000, the homes were gutted, rebuilt with modern conveniences and adorned with ornamental ironwork.

In September 1950, there were still working cart and wagon horses in Richmond, in addition to police horses that patrolled the streets. That month, city officials pondered whether furnishing water to this old horse trough – on North Second Street near Bates Street – and two others was still justified. The cost of supplying water to all three was about $500 per year.

In March 1951, reigning horse of the year Hill Prince came home to The Meadow, near Doswell in Caroline County, after suffering a leg fracture during training in California. Trainer J.H. “Casey” Hayes delivered a pat to the Thoroughbred’s nose. Owned by Mr. and Mrs. Christopher T. Chenery, Hill Prince did not return to racing until fall 1951 and only raced one more year after before being retired.

This June 1964 image shows the newly renovated Park Avenue Methodist Church. The building at Park and Allen avenues in Richmond housed Monument Methodist Church before a fire in 1950 caused extensive damage. The following year, that congregation was part of a merger that formed Reveille United Methodist. The Byrd Park Methodist congregation, later renamed to Park Avenue, moved into the structure in 1952. The building is now occupied by Community Church of God in Christ.

In December 1954, actor Paul Douglas was in Richmond to star in a stage production of “The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial,” and he renewed acquaintances – and shared family photographs – with local actress and singer Patsy Garrett, a friend from their days in radio. Douglas may be most known for the film “Angels in the Outfield”; Garrett was known for her roles in the “Benji” films and as the “Purina Cat Chow Lady” in TV commercials.

In January 1952, Virginia Union University basketball teammates (from left) Andrew Rodez, Herman Howard and Ricky Johnson rested during a practice before an upcoming game against North Carolina College. The Panthers were on an eight-game winning streak, but they lost 76-73 in overtime to NCC.

In July 1952, the nation's first 24-hour peacetime air raid alert system, called Operation Skywatch, began operation. Air Force members and volunteers staffing the Richmond filter station began plotting sightings of planes as they were called in.

In January 1954, dental students A.S. Anderson (left) and F.O. Black examined X-rays in the new photographic laboratory at the Medical College of Virginia. That month, MCV opened the Wood Memorial Building, which provided updated space for the dental school. Virginia was suffering from a dentist shortage at the time, with only one dentist for every 3,245 residents – ranking the state 41st among the nation’s 48 states.

In April 1956, members of the Richmond Virginians engaged in a pre-practice bull session in their locker room. The International League baseball team held spring training in Haines City, Fla., before returning to their local base of Parker Field.

In November 1953, University of Richmond basketball coach Les Hooker was surrounded by four returning members from the previous season’s team, which won the Big Six title in Hooker’s first season and earned him coach of the year honors. Pictured (left to right) are Ken Daniels, Warren Mills, Hooker, Ed Harrison and Walt Lysaght.

In October 1956, members of the Richmond Square Dance Federation danced in Bon Air. According to an accompanying article, square dancing was enjoying a revival at the time. The local federation, assisted by the city parks department and state Chamber of Commerce, planned to host a square dancing festival the next month with groups from across Virginia.

In April 1950, firemen W.M. Alley and J.B. Winston mounted Richmond’s oldest fire engine, Old 798. Though long out of use, the engine was brought out for special occasions and parades. When Old 798 was still active, it was pulled by two horses that responded to the fire bell with excitement, a veteran fire chief said.

In October 1952, University of Richmond cross country coach Fred Hardy trained his runners – team captain Bill Jordan set the pace – ahead of a meet against Virginia Military Institute in Lexington.

In January 1957, Dot Perkins led a dance class in “the hut” at the Powhatan Hill playground in Richmond. The playground received the Quonset hut, a semicircular structure made out of corrugated metal, in 1947 after city officials authorized using $15,000 to erect it. It quickly became a center of extracurricular activities for area children.

In September 1951, a boy fished at the dam of Lakeside Lake in Henrico County. Lewis Ginter built the dam in the 1890s to connect Lakeside Park to the Lakeside Wheel Club. Today, the lake is in on the grounds of Jefferson Lakeside Country Club.

In July 1950, a curb boy at Arnette’s Ice Cream Co., served Beverly Page French a banana split. The ice cream shop, located on Willard Road in Henrico County, was a popular hangout for local teens.

In October 1954, a group of costumed children celebrated Halloween at the William Fox playground in Richmond.

In June 1953, James R. Osterbind posed for a photo during his workday at Tredegar Iron Works in Richmond. Osterbind was one of several members of his family who worked at Tredegar over the course of four generations. Tredegar opened in 1837, was a major manufacturing center for the Confederacy during the Civil War and continued as a production facility through most of the 1950s.

In November 1950, Dr. R.H. Sease checked the blood pressure of Dr. William H. Johnson, while Dr. L.T. Redd and Dr. S.O. Binns observed. The doctors were on the receiving end of physical examinations under provisions of the “Doctor Draft” law, which provided medical professionals for the military during the Korean War era and beyond. These exams were conducted at 900 N. Lombardy St. in Richmond.

In January 1953, Richmond city workers painted lane lines on Cowardin Avenue using a new power-driven machine. Previously, it took two men to do the process - one to hold a piece of rope along the line and another to apply paint.

In May 1955, Richmond fireman W.L. Clary of Engine Co. 1 welcomed some friends on the firetruck: Smokie Jr. and Back Tap, a pair of Dalmatians.

In October 1954, traffic stacked up at Fifth and Franklin streets in downtown Richmond on a busy shopping day.

In December 1951, Mrs. Herbert Flax showed her daughter, Susan April, how the light candles on the menorah in celebration of Hanukkah at Temple Beth Israel in Richmond. Flax was chairwoman of Women’s Club gift shop.

In March 1957, a boy and girl walked through Chesterfield County farmland with their tools, ready to help with planting. Blossoms on the nearby plum tree were signs of spring.

In July 1954, Kitty Liles performed with her band. Liles had played the drums for years, starting when she was a student at Varina High School in the 1940s. In 1954, Liles was using money from her gigs around Richmond to pay for her pursuit of a social work degree at Richmond Professional Institute.

This September 1953 image shows the canal locks in downtown Richmond between 14th and Pear streets. After their installation and later refurbishment in the mid-19th century, the locks increased boat traffic and allowed for easier transport of goods to and from the city.

In June 1951, square dance caller Richard Chase taught playground directors some steps ahead o f a dance scheduled for the Byrd Park tennis courts in Richmond as part of Park and Recreation Week. The program was organized by the city and sponsored by Thalhimers.

In August 1954, members of the Richmond Civic Ballet rehearsed for an upcoming performance. The open-membership volunteer group, which held roughly a dozen performances annually at local events, was organized almost four years earlier by local former professional dancers Betty Carper Grigg and John Hurdle.

In October 1954, students crowded into the new Douglas S. Freeman High School in Henrico County. The school, which cost about $1.1 million, opened the previous month and had roughly 500 high school and 500 elementary students.

In August 1953, members of the Monacan Junior Woman’s Club sought volunteers for the upcoming blood drive at Tuckahoe Elementary School in Henrico County. While Mrs. Allan J. Carter called prospects, Mrs. William F. Thornton worked at the typewriter.

In May 1954, James River Garden Club members visited the Branch House on Monument Avenue in Richmond to make last-minute arrangements before the weekend’s flower show. As part of event, the Antiquarian Society of Richmond also prepared an exhibit of 18th-century furniture in the library of the house. Proceeds helped restore local gardens

In January 1950, Bobby Seal (left), 15, and Marvin “Kayo” Williams, 14, played billiards on the new table at the Salvation Army’s Red Shield Boys Club, which was on Church Hill in Richmond.

In October 1957, about 100 firefighters needed four hours to control a blaze in the 700 block of East Main Street in downtown Richmond. The fire caused $100,000 in damage and displaced Nathan’s tailor shop and the DeJarnette & Paul insurance agency.

In March 1952, Mrs. V.C. Wiltshire, 85, prepared for spring planting at her home on Patterson Avenue in Richmond.

In October 1951, Mrs. R.L. Mattox showed off her unique mailbox at her home on state Route 35 in Prince George County. The mailbox post was made using an old log cabin chain and required an hour’s worth of welding. Mattox and her husband were inspired by a design they saw in a magazine.

In September 1950, ground was broken for the South Richmond Health Center at 14th and Bainbridge streets. Members of the Richmond public health community and South Richmond Community Nursing Service participated in the ceremony. The clinic, which opened in January 1952, was staffed by volunteer nurses.

In July 1953, tennis players (from left) Cliff Miller, Al Dickinson and Bob Figg Sr. discussed the Country Club of Virginia’s annual tennis competition, which began the day before. Only Dickinson survived the first day of the event.

In May 1953, shoppers crowded the streets of downtown for Richmond Day, a promotion that began the year before. Like Black Friday, shoppers were lured to stores with deals such as $1 televisions, 2-for-1 car deals and $1 dresses. Merchants reported strong sales.

In August 1954, Melvin Doggett (left) and Jeff Martin sought relief from the summer heat … by getting even hotter. The men used the “hot boxes” at the Richmond YMCA, which could be set to 115 degrees and could leave the body cleansed and refreshed.

In September 1950, Sherry Gilman placed a letter in a barrel-turned-mailbox on Honaker Avenue in Richmond. The barrel was serving as a temporary mailbox for the newly developed residential area in the West End.

In June 1952, motorcyclists raced in the 10-Mile National Motorcycle Championship at the Atlantic Rural Exposition grounds in Henrico County. More than 4,000 spectators saw Bobby Hill of Columbus, Ohio, the nation’s top racer, ride bike No. 1 to victory in the 20-lap championship race.

In December 1957, firefighters battled at blaze at L.R. Brown & Co., a furniture store on Hull Street in South Richmond. The warehouse blaze destroyed a lot of pieces intended for Christmas gifts.

In October 1951, workers constructed a section of Forest Hill Avenue in South Richmond. The segment sits between Westover Hills Boulevard and Prince Arthur Road.

In July 1951, Alonzo Moore, 74, walked down a street in Cape Charles on Virginia’s Eastern Shore and blew his horn, alerting locals to his sale of the fresh catch of the day.

In February 1953, Richmond Department of Utilities workers used a 65-foot hook-and-ladder fire truck to install new lights on Broad Street after attempts to secure other ladder facilities from private companies had failed.

In June 1951, the summer heat sent crowds to Pocahontas State Park in Chesterfield County for a swim. Earlier that month, the state’s nine parks welcomed more than 77,000 visitors during their unofficial opening week for the season.

In July 1956, Warren Collazzo and Pat Benedict of the Eastern Parkway Skating Club in Brooklyn, N.Y., practiced a routine they would use in an international skating competition that was underway at the Arena in Richmond. The multipurpose venue at Boulevard and Hermitage Road hosted sporting events, concerts, shows and exhibitions for more than 40 years before being torn down in the late 1990s to make way for Sports Backers Stadium.

In May 1950, Clifford Burgess (from left), Harlean Bibb, Charles King and Shirley Kingsley, who attended Summer Hill School in South Richmond, practiced a square dance called “Duck for the Oyster.”

In June 1950, Barbara Kilday (from left), Becky Branch and Jill Arnold set up a net for tennis. The 14-year-olds were attending summer school in the Richmond area.

In February 1951, Roman West pulled the cord of a steam whistle at T&E Laundry on Marshall Street in Richmond. The whistle was one of nine that was being used in a citywide test of the audibility of air raid signals.

In November 1950, farmer Ray Welch of Northumberland County used his homemade portable corn elevator. The device scooped grain from ground level and transferred it up for storage, and the wheels allowed it to be moved from place to place. “Everybody who farms has to make every kind of gadget he can for himself,” Welch said.

In June 1950, a school group followed a nature trail at Forest Hill Park in Richmond and explored a wildflower preserve and bird sanctuary.

In May 1955, a tugboat from New York City left Richmond’s Upper Terminal with three steel barges in tow. The barges were made at Richmond Steel Co. for businesses in New York.

In April 1955, students at Ridge School in Henrico County enjoyed their new merry-go-round. It was presented to the school by the PTA, which had collected donations for playground equipment.

In May 1956, Ann Huxley adjusted the blade height on her lawnmower before cutting the grass at her home on Three Chopt Road in Henrico County.

In November 1951, a dachshund float towered above spectators lining the curb during the Thalhimers Toy Parade in downtown Richmond. The parade was first held in 1929 and, after a pause during World War II, resumed in 1946. Thalhimers department store employees worked for months to build floats, design routes and prepare costumes. The parade was cancelled in 1973 as in-store activities took greater prominence.

In July 1950, an employee of Richmond optician J.S. Galeski helped make a plastic eye. Galeski wanted to improve the appearance and standardize the production of replacement eyes, which had been made of glass by skilled artisans. His plastic models came in many sizes and colors.

In September 1951, the area of Hull Street between 12th and 13 streets in South Richmond was dug up for utility work and street rebuilding.

The Dec. 6, 1953, edition of The Times-Dispatch included a photo spread on the Southern Biscuit Co., whose products – under the Famous Foods of Virginia brand – established the company as one of America's largest producers of cookies and crackers. Here, baked cookies moved along a conveyor. The Richmond factory near Scott’s Addition now houses the Cookie Factory Lofts apartment complex.

In January 1954, shoppers waited for buses in the snow on Broad Street in downtown Richmond. An accompanying article said the storm brought out a “spirit of neighborliness” among passengers as they “gossiped with strangers about the terrible weather.”

In November 1950, Richmond firefighters battled an early morning blaze at Monument Methodist Church, located at Allen and Park avenues. More than 150 firefighters and two-thirds of the city’s firefighting equipment responded to the blaze, which caused extensive damage. Four firemen were injured, mainly from ice that formed on ladders and sidewalks in the freezing cold.

In September 1954, the Canadian ship Notting Hill was docked at Richmond’s Deepwater Terminal on the James River. Tobacco, textiles, newsprint, machinery and steel were among many products that came into or exited the terminal on cargo ships.

In October 1981, Melvin “Shot” Walker worked the grill at the White Spot in Charlottesville. The popular diner, located along the Corner in the heart of the University of Virginia, was opened in 1953 by Paul Dunsmore. The building used to house a beauty salon, and a white spot on the floor where a salon chair once sat gave the eatery its name.

In May 1957, patrons enjoyed the roller coaster at the amusement park in Buckroe Beach in Hampton. Buckroe Beach was a popular destination for Richmonders in the first half of the century as railroads offered direct trips to the area, where visitors could rent a cottage for $50 to $75 a week.

In April 1951, a couple strolled through the gardens at Shooters Hill in Goochland County. In the 1950s, the historic home was often the site of Tuckahoe Garden Club events; estate owner Mrs. H.C.L. Miller was club president.

In August 1955, Mrs. Burlee stood on her front lawn at Tree Hill Farm in Henrico County’s Varina area and admired the view of Richmond. The farm dated to the 1700s, and a large oak on the property, which was felled by a storm in 2012, was known as the “Surrender Tree” – legend says it is where Richmond Mayor Joseph Mayo surrendered the city to Union forces in April 1865 near the end of the Civil War. More recently, the farm served as a set for the 2015 film “Ithaca,” starring and directed by Meg Ryan.

In April 1953, 15-year-old Doris Ann Williams operated her ham radio; she was the youngest female amateur shortwave operator in Richmond. The John Marshal High School freshman began learning short wave code the year before. Her father, Roland, was a former radio operator for the city Police Department, which sparked his daughter’s interest in the hobby.

In May 1953, Richmond, Fredericksburg and Potomac Railroad conductor H.C. Rollins (right) and flagman C.H. Smith did pre-trip paperwork in a train caboose before a ride to Washington.

In March 1953, L. Howard Jenkins, head of a Richmond book manufacturer that bore his name, supervised workers at his plant on West Broad Street. The company dated to the 1880s.

In February 1951, Mrs. J.H. Boxley diverted her husband’s attention from his bookkeeping to show off new inventory at the L’Pell’s clothing store they owned on East Grace Street in Richmond.

This October 1951 shows one side of Bloemendaal House, the former home of Richmond businessman Lewis Ginter and now part of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden.

In December 1951, city workers paved part of Chamberlayne Avenue in Richmond. Other aspects of the project included widening the street at some intersections.

In February 1951, Henrico County poultry farmer L.C. Meador experimented with infrared brooder lights. At the time, experts were touting infrared energy as a less expensive and more efficient way to keep chicks warm – they recommended 60 to 100 chicks per 250-watt lamp, depending on the season.

In October 1953, Mary Ellen Stafford administered a free flu shot to John W. Kirby in Richmond. The City Employees’ Medical Service offered the shots to more than 1,500 employees in a campaign to reduce illness-related absences during the winter.

In March 1955, firefighters responded to an apartment building blaze at 3427 W. Grace St. in Richmond. The fire, which started in the basement and worked its way up to the third floor, did not injure any residents in the 12-unit building, but the initial estimate of damage topped $5,000.

In August 1957, Betty Beryl Shenk, dressed in hunting attire, rode Sun Dial during a horse show at the Deep Run Hunt Club in Goochland County.

In January 1953, a fire destroyed most of a Richmond Ice Co. factory at Bainbridge and 20th streets in South Richmond. The four-alarm fire sent flames nearly 40 feet into the air.

In August 1953, Braxton Rock poured a dye mixture into a machine at the Richmond Piece Dye Works at Third and Hull streets in South Richmond. The factory, which opened in the 1930s, dyed millions of yards of fabric each year for clothing manufacturers throughout the country.

In July 1952, two workers collected tomatoes and put them on a horse-drawn at the Burnette family farm in Hanover County. Giant fields of tomatoes, cantaloupes and watermelons yielded truckloads of produce each season.

In September 1954, a model wore the latest in fall evening wear for a fashion show by Montaldo’s, a clothing boutique on East Grace Street in downtown Richmond. A white brocade sheath with poufs at the hips was accented by black velvet, with white gloves and many jewels adding to the glamour.

In January 1950, the Bank of Virginia branch at Fourth and Grace streets in downtown Richmond was just days away from its opening ceremonies. In January 2017, the building became home to Champion Brewing Co.

In August 1951, scaffolding covered the front of Broad Street Station in Richmond as workers performed routine maintenance. The building was made from Indiana limestone, and this was the first time the mortar between the stone blocks had been worked on since the building was constructed in 1917.

In January 1951, chef C.W. Beard of the Hotel Richmond measured ingredients for spoonbread. The hotel, adjacent to Capitol Square and formerly site of the St. Clare Hotel, was established in 1904 by Adeline Atkinson at after she fought for a more equitable tax arrangement with the city. The hotel was acquired by the state in 1966 for about $2 million and became its Ninth Street Office Building.

In April 1955, a model wore a Gaston Mallet wedding gown in the bridal section at the Miller & Rhoads department store in downtown Richmond. The dress, called “The Butterfly,” featured a scalloped lace neckline and a lace overskirt that cascaded into a full-length train.

In May 1957, a man read a newspaper while waiting for a train at Broad Street Station in Richmond. The train station, built in 1917, ceased passenger service in 1975 and later became the home of the Science Museum of Virginia.

In October 1953, workers used wire to reinforce a water tank on Church Hill in Richmond. The tank, at 13th and M streets, held 5 million gallons and was constructed a year earlier to help raise water pressure on Church Hill and much of the East End, which had notoriously low water pressure.

In April 1952, Richmond harbormaster O. L. Rowe checked the gauge on the James River as the water approached flood stage after four days of rainfall. Flooding was only minor in several sections of the city.

In September 1952, Army veterinarians visited the Richmond Market Center at North Boulevard and Kelly Road to inspect apples. The men were enrolled in a two-week course on fruit and vegetable inspection being conducted by the Army and the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

This May 1957 image shows a stretch of businesses along Third Street between Broad and Grace streets in downtown Richmond. Among them were a locksmith, optician and beauty salon.

In September 1957, a sign across from the entrance to Bryan Park gave drivers an official welcome to Richmond. The city installed several welcome signs on approaches to city limits to herald “The Capital City.”

In August 1956, firefighters worked to put out flames at the Carter-Venable Grain Elevator at 12th and Canal streets in Richmond. The fire, which drew a crowd of hundreds, caused an estimated $100,000 in damage to machinery and supplies. Friction in a stalled conveyor belt sparked the fire.

In May 1950, workers positioned steel plates during construction of a 2 million-gallon water storage tank on Cofer Road in South Richmond. The tank aimed to increase water pressure on South Side and protect against a river-crossing water line break. The tanks and the mains to serve it were estimated to cost $100,000.

In January 1950, a worker put the final touches on the vault inside the Bank of Virginia’s newest branch at Fourth and Grace streets in downtown Richmond. It was the bank’s fifth local office. Paul Wright Jr. (far right) was the manager of the new location; with him are several staff members.

In August 1957, postman William Johnson delivered mail using his Mailster (in the background) for the first time. Two months earlier, the Richmond Post Office received 18 of the scooters for use in suburbs and fringe areas of the city. They cost $900 each, and with 7.5-horsepower engines, the Mailsters could carry a quarter-ton of mail in the trunk.

In March 1954, firefighter Frank Epperson manned a watch tower near Williamsburg and used a device called an alidade to locate fires. The winds of March were a sign of spring to foresters in Virginia, which meant a higher chance of fires. If he saw smoke, Epperson could line up the device’s sighting bar with the smudge and identify the corresponding spot on the alidade’s topographic map, which could approximate the fire’s location.

In November 1951, 5-year-old aspiring cowboy Johnny Rollins did his best Roy Rogers impression – albeit with a smaller hat, toy pistol and rocking horse – while visiting a toy store in Richmond.

In March 1951, members of the Victory Garden Club planted a tree at Jahnke Road Chapel in Richmond. From left are Mrs. S.G. Snellings, Mrs. Randolph Byrd and Mrs. Martha Clements.

In February 1953, employees at the Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles office in Richmond processed license plate registration forms, placing them in destination slots for bulk mailing. More than 1 million new orange and blue plate sets were expected to be sold in the state that year.

In November 1957, birds flew over the marsh at Presquile Island, located in the James River at the eastern tip of Chesterfield County. The largely untouched 1,329-acre island was designated in 1953 as the Presquile National Wildlife Refuge, which harbors wildlife including bald eagles.

In February 1950, Shepherd “Shep” Walker carried 60 pounds of flour, meal and sugar in a bag on his head in Palmyra in Fluvanna County. Walker, 75, said he started using the technique when he was a boy, after seeing his mother carry a bucket of water on her head without spilling a drop.

In February 1954, Norma Cook inspected and graded eggs at E.C. Alexander & Co. of Richmond. The staff would produce thousands of cartons per year that were sealed according to federal-state labeling guidelines; the company also handled a large volume of poultry.

In May 1956, Richmond officials said the cast iron fountain in Chimborazo Park would be removed because of old age and rusty deterioration. The fountain had been built in the early 20th century, and colorful lighting at night provided a captivating sight for visitors.

In February 1957, pedestrians on East Grace Street in downtown Richmond endured some light snow during the afternoon.

In August 1956, refuge manager John Walther checked fence poles that were part of a deer-prevention project on Presquile Island, located in the James River at the eastern tip of Chesterfield County. The largely untouched 1,329-acre island was designated in 1953 as the Presquile National Wildlife Refuge, which harbors wildlife including bald eagles. The land was originally part of a peninsula before it was severed to create a channel for boats in the 1930s. Historically, the island was occupied by Native Americans.

In January 1956, Stuart Circle Hospital in Richmond opened a new wing, which included this nursery as well as 48 patient rooms. The old building was remodeled, including the Lewis C. Bosher Memorial Library, which moved from the second floor to the first. The hospital was originally built in 1913, and the construction of the major addition began in 1954.

This October 1954 image shows the Capitol Hotel, which once was at Eight and Grace streets in downtown Richmond. The hotel, built in 1916, was demolished in 1990; in its final years, it had become home to hundreds of low-income residents.

In August 1952, Ryland Wilkinson, 14, played with Kinky, the kinkajou he discovered at a used-car lot while helping make milk deliveries near Carytown in Richmond. The exotic animal, about the size of a cat, had escaped from the Cavalier Pet Shot on West Cary Street, about two blocks from the auto lot. Ryland returned Kinky and received a $5 reward.

In March 1953, a bus enjoyed a clear path to pick up passengers at a stop on Broad Street in downtown Richmond. A new parking ban on Broad and some surrounding streets aimed to relieve downtown traffic during the business day.

In June 1957, a boy rode his bike along a sidewalk on a summer day in Richmond’s Oregon Hill neighborhood.

In January 1950, postal officials inspected a new highway post office bus that would operate between Richmond and Sanford, N.C. The privately owned and operated service would transport and sort mail while in transit.

In August 1950, Richmond police officer J.T. Parks studied a set of fingerprints. The police force had amassed 80,000 sets starting in 1915, and officials were discussing plans to expand space for fingerprint files.

In June 1957, a boy and girl sat outside the fire station at Cumberland and Laurel Streets in Richmond’s Oregon Hill neighborhood. The station, built in the late 19th century, housed two fire companies by the mid-1960s, when it was slated to be replaced by two new stations elsewhere.

In March 1957, a barge was being filled with grain at the Upper Terminal shipping yard on the James River in Richmond.

In June 1950, a row of parked cars lined the 1000 block of East Marshall Street in downtown Richmond.

In June 1952, F.L. Dix charted some storms on a weather map at the Byrd Field Weather Bureau. The weather station had been established at the airport in Henrico County in 1928. Over the decades, it had various stints of closure or service – including during World War II, when Richmond’s airport was an Army airfield. The local weather office was closed permanently in 1996, and operations were moved to Wakefield.

In January 1953, a Medical College of Virginia orderly guided a patient to Memorial Hospital via a tunnel under East Broad Street in downtown Richmond. A 3,000-foot tunnel network, built in the late 1930s, connected the MCV complex to the state Capitol, Executive Mansion, state library and other surrounding buildings.

In April 1952, Linda Boos (left) and Irene Stallings picketed outside Western Union’s main office in downtown Richmond. Local employees had joined a strike that virtually shut down the telegraph service nationally; it lasted 53 days.

In August 1955, Ginter Park swim club members Susan Gedney (left) and Sally Shepherd practiced with coach Shelburn Carmack at the Ginter Park pool in Richmond. Both girls were to compete that week as the team sought to defends its title at the state AAU meet in Norfolk.

In May 1956, new outdoor grills and tables were installed in the picnic area at Forest Hill Park in South Richmond. The grill was one of 10 that were added to the park that spring.

In September 1955, sandbag walls held back water along a street in the Lakeside area of Henrico County, which had been flooded by Hurricane Ione the day before. Hundreds of volunteers gathered to build a barrier to shield hard-hit homes from further flooding.

In June 1952, R.A. Marshall Jr. exhibited his model of a flying saucer. The electrical and mechanical engineer had established an outpost on his Dinwiddie County farm where observed and experimented with flying saucers. Marshall, who said he saw his first saucer in 1926 and had seen three in all, speculated that some saucers could have originated in still-unexplored areas of Earth.

This September 1955 image shows the sign of the Hotel John Marshall at Fifth and Franklin streets in downtown Richmond. At the time, the hotel was commemorating the 200th birthday of John Marshall, who served as U.S. chief justice from 1801 to 1835. Commemorative events included a pageant depicting scenes from Marshall’s life and a re-enactment of the Aaron Burr treason trial from 1807, over which Marshall presided.

In October 1951, Geraldine Johnson (from left), Aretha Christian and Alcelia Robinson of Girl Scout Troop 85 in Richmond made dolls to send to Girl Scouts overseas to express international friendship.

In June 1951, this water storage tank on University of Richmond property began holding water for the city of Richmond. The city sold water to Henrico County, and the tank would help serve some of its needs.

In February 1950, Mrs. Vinton Pugh (left) and Mrs. Albert Sallwasser (right) of the Thomas Jefferson Junior Women’s Club played a game of canasta with veterans Mario Scine (seated) and John Harding (on hospital bed) at McGuire Hospital in Richmond.

In May 1956, two black swans were kept inside the Byrd Park maintenance shop in Richmond ahead of a water-ski show on Swan Lake, where they lived. A week earlier, one swan had gotten in the way during a boat show, and city officials decided it would be safer to move the birds.

In February 1952, Jane Groves Anderson – doll in hand – got off the school bus and headed to class at Mary Munford School in Richmond’s West End. She was part of the second shift of students attending the school that day – the first-shift pupils waited outside the bus to ride home. The double-shift system was put in place to accommodate an overflow of students.

In April 1953, students at Mary Washington College in Fredericksburg left the new Anne Carter Lee Hall student activities building to head to morning classes. The hall as well as the school’s new multi-building Fine Arts Center were to dedicated on a May weekend that marked homecoming and an arts festival. The General Assembly changed the school’s name in 2004 to the University of Mary Washington.

In July 1953, Elma Perkins hung grenades on the paint line at the Richmond Foundry and Manufacturing Co. The foundry was one of several Richmond businesses contracted by the federal government to produce materials for national defense.

In June 1950, fireman C.T. Gleason put the finishing touches on a mural about safety at the Richmond Fire Department.

This September 1953 image shows Dorothy Davis, who was elected mayor of the Virginia town of Washington in 1950. Davis was the first female mayor in the eastern United States and the youngest (age 28) in the country, according to an accompanying article. The Rappahannock County town also had an all-female Town Council. Davis’ run for mayor started as a joke – but to her surprise, she defeated her male opponents by a 51-47 vote.

This September 1953 image shows Dorothy Davis, who was elected mayor of the Virginia town of Washington in 1950. Davis was the first female mayor in the eastern United States and the youngest (age 28) in the country, according to an accompanying article. The Rappahannock County town also had an all-female Town Council. Davis’ run for mayor started as a joke – but to her surprise, she defeated her male opponents by a 51-47 vote.

In November 1952, G.R. Toney poured fluoride into a dispensing machine at the Richmond water filtration facility. Fluoridation of water to prevent tooth decay became an official policy of the U.S. Public Health Service by 1951.

In June 1950, Franklin Newcomer loaded the dishwasher in his Richmond home. That decade was when automatic dishwashers became more common in households, though a commercially successful machine was invented in the 1880s by Josephine Garis Cochrane.

In February 1951, members of the Woman’s Exchange consignment store inspected their new location at 3141 W. Cary St. in Richmond. The store was founded by the Richmond Woman’s Club to help women make a living on their own. From left to right are club officials Mrs. John Russell, Mrs. Coleman Wortham Jr., Mrs. Fielding Williams and Mrs. James Cohen.

In August 1952, Alfred Mistr took his children for a boat ride on his farm pond in Varina in Henrico County. Rowing in the foreground was his eldest son, Freddie.

In March 1953, employees of L.H. Jenkins Inc., one of Richmond’s largest book binding firms, worked in the company plant at 2201 W. Broad St. At the time, according to the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, printing and publishing was the seventh-largest industry in the Richmond area, with 63 firms and nearly 2,500 workers.

In July 1952, Donald Athern (with broom) and David Spivey (making bed) tidied their tent at the YMCA’s Camp Richmond. The campers who maintained the neatest tent were awarded for their diligence.

In September 1953, J.E. Hutchinson groomed the grand champion bull (senior class) of the Chesterfield County Fair. The bull was owned by Robert M. Jeffress of Meadowbrook Farm.

In April 1955, the Branch House (shown in rear view) at 2501 Monument Ave. in Richmond was formally dedicated as the new home of the Richmond Area Community Chest (a predecessor of United Way). The 27,000-square-foot Tudor Revival mansion, designed by John Russell Pope, was completed in 1919 for financier John Kerr Branch and his wife. The family donated the home as a memorial to the owners. Today, the mansion is home to the Branch Museum of Architecture and Design.

In September 1951, city workers finished relining the first half of the Byrd Park reservoir in Richmond, a project designed to stop leakage of a half-million gallons of water daily. This image shows the refurbished section just before it was filled with water – its capacity was 15 million gallons. Refurbishing the second half of the reservoir was to follow.

In June 1957, a woman stood in an opening on the upper James River in Powhatan County that would soon become a new boat landing for fishermen. The boat ramp, located off state Route 711 and about 12 miles from the Huguenot Bridge, had been part of the Kennon estate.

In December 1952, Richmond policewoman Dorothy Tyler directed traffic along Chamberlayne Avenue. Tyler was one of 18 women in the Richmond Traffic Safety Division at the time. They received the same training as male officers, which required two intense weeks at the police academy, Red Cross first aid training and practice on the gun range.

In August 1952, J.A. Borron, an inspector for Chesapeake & Potomac Telephone Co., sawed off a section of an old wooden water pipe found beneath the 1400 block of Main Street in downtown Richmond. During under-street construction on a phone project, the pipe – installed in the early 1800s – was revealed. It was made from a pine log about 10 feet long, through which a hole about 4 inches in diameter was drilled by hand auger. The pipe, once used to circulate water through the city, was donated to The Valentine museum.

In May 1952, Bonnie admired a photo of former owner Ellen Glasgow, the Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist from Richmond. An advocate for animal welfare, Glasgow died in November 1945 and left some of her fortune to her beloved dog, a stray she rescued in 1939. Glasgow’s primary beneficiary was the Richmond Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, which she led for many years.

In April 1950, traffic moved through a new circle at Belt Boulevard and Hull Street Road in South Richmond. The wide circle aimed to improve safety and traffic flow at the busy intersection. The $183,000 project, led by the State Highway Department, was named McGuire Circle for its proximity to the veterans hospital nearby.

In August 1951, pilot George Colonna took a smoke break between shifts dusting a potato field with insecticide near Cape Charles on Virginia’s Eastern Shore. The makeup effect was caused by a coating of dust, except where his goggles protected his eyes and upper cheeks.

In April 1952, V.E. Straughan examined growths that attacked single crystals of aluminum in a lab at the Virginia Institute for Scientific Research, which studied physical and life sciences.

In early May 1956, anglers kicked off their shoes and cast their lines in the James River at Williams Dam in Richmond’s West End. The thermometer hit an unseasonably high 89 – but was expected to drop to the mid-60s the following day.

September 9, 1954: Miss Dorothy Smith (second from left) and Miss Elizabeth Leavell, who made their formal bows at a tea dance yesterday, request a favorite tune from the pianist. With them are Charles Little (left) and Douglas Leavell. The dance was held at the Country Club of Virginia.

A 1950 image of the Bellona Arsenal property in Chesterfield County. It was built in 1816 by the U.S. government as an Army post, and the nearby foundry supplied the military in the antebellum era. In the Civil War, the complex served the Confederacy. The Luck family renovated the remaining buildings beginning in the early 1940s.

In July 1953, the Richmond Health Department highlighted improvements made in a block of Church Hill bounded by Grace, Broad, 23rd and 24th streets – including a spruced-up alleyway with new fencing. The Libby Hill Civic Association was set to lead rehabilitation and beautification for 14 more blocks in the area, with improvements such as removal of old sheds, fresh exterior painting and interior upgrades to some houses in one of the city’s oldest sections.

This June 1952 image shows the John B. Cary School at 2100 Idlewood Ave. in Richmond. Built in the Gothic Revival style in 1912-13, it was made mainly of granite. In 1954, the building became a segregated black school and was renamed West End School. Since 1976, the building has had several uses and is currently home to Winthrop Manor, an assisted living facility.

In July 1950, Byrd Park caretaker W.L. “Pop” Browning rolled the park's baseball diamonds. In 1906, the Richmond Times-Dispatch editorial board started advocating the use of Byrd Park as an athletic field, including baseball diamonds. The following year, all approvals were given, and the park saw its first game.

In May 1955, a new hard-surfaced runway at Northfield Airport in Henrico County was dedicated during an air fair and open house. The 50-foot-wide strip was 2,350 feet long and cost approximately $15,000. The airport, on 200-plus acres near the intersection of what is now Parham and Chamberlayne roads (U.S. Route 301), opened in the mid-1940s and closed in 1968 after the owners sold it for residential development.

This December 1951 image shows the Highland Springs Volunteer Fire Department. The unit was organized in July 1941 with 45 volunteers and a $6,000 fire truck. The unit moved into this building on Nine Mile Road in 1947. At far left is Fire Chief Percy L. Burnett.

This January 1952 image shows a section of Cary Street in downtown Richmond that had been recommended to become one-way, along with parts of Main Street. The proposal hinged on the streetcar tracks being removed from Main, which was scheduled for May. The change aimed to reduce accidents, provide extra parking spaces and reduce traffic.

The Administration Building at the old State Fairgrounds is pictured in February 1951. At the time, the building was used as the City Garage, and debate was under way about converting it to an indoor sports arena. In June of that year, Richmond City Council refused to add the project to its upcoming capital budget.

A view of the F.W. Woolworth Co. store at 509 E. Broad St. downtown in June 1950. The retailer also had stores on Hull Street and West Cary Street. In an Easter season advertisement that year, the company offered M&M candies at 49 cents per pound.

Bill Meredith and a colleague sent up a balloon at the Byrd Airport Weather Station in April 1952. Balloons were used to help determine atmospheric conditions.

In November 1951, there were still working cart and wagon horses in Richmond, in addition to police horses that patrolled the streets. That month, the Richmond City Council debated the fate of this 5-ton watering fountain at Broad Street, Adams Street and Brook Road, which was placed there in 1907. To make way for a traffic island, the council eventually voted to move the fountain to Price Street, Leigh Street and Chamberlayne Avenue, where it remains today. (The statue of Bill "Bojangles" Robinson was also added to the Chamberlayne intersection in 1973.)

In March 1952, it took Petersburg's William Worth about 2.5 hours to drive his 1902 Oldsmobile to the Hotel John Marshall in Richmond, a day before a Rotary Club meeting that honored 50 years of service by AAA. The car was steered by a tiller -- not a wheel -- and it had wood-spoked wheels with hard tires that were inflated by a hand pump.

A June 1950 view of the Peoples Drug store at 427 E. Broad St. The company was founded in Washington in 1904 and expanded along the East Coast. The last locations were converted into CVS stores in 1994.

In June 1958, a crowd gathered near the Broad Street interchange for a ceremony to dedicate the Richmond-Petersburg Turnpike, which is now primarily a stretch of Interstate 95. About 30 of the turnpike’s 35 miles were set to open, with nearly 20 interchanges, a top speed limit of 60 mph and a 70-cent toll for drivers traveling the full length.

In May 1964, Virginia Military Institute cadets fired a 21-gun salute as President Lyndon B. Johnson arrived for the dedication of the George C. Marshall Research Library at the school in Lexington. Marshall, a VMI graduate, died in 1959 after a distinguished military and government career. He received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1953 for the Marshall Plan that helped Western Europe recover after World War II.

In May 1959, the Chesapeake and Ohio Railway announced plans to move about a third of its workforce from Richmond to Huntington, W.Va., by 1961-62. Many employees worked in the First and Merchants National Bank building at Ninth Street downtown, which was partially owned by C&O. The building has been converted to First National Apartments.

This April 1959 image shows the new entrance gate to Joseph Bryan Park off Hermitage Road in Richmond. The original granite arch, dedicated in 1912, was torn down, moved and re-formed between 1956 and 1958 by the Richmond-Petersburg Turnpike Authority. The project, which cost $27,000, resulted in this rectangular frame that still stands today.

In November 1959, E.L. Yowell visited the Byrd Park spring to collect water on a pleasant day. Richmond residents were enjoying warm weather after several days of record cold, with temperatures that fell to well below freezing overnight.

This June 1958 image shows the Bridge at Falling Creek. The granite arch span, most of which can still be seen today, was built in the 1820s – at a cost of just over $2,000. The bridge was retired from service in the early 1930s after a new span began carrying southbound U.S. 1/301 traffic over Falling Creek in Chesterfield County. The bridge was added to the National Register of Historic Places in the 1990s.

In September 1959, Trailways ticket agent James Wood used one of three new electronic “ticketeers” installed at the Richmond depot. The key to the device was a matrix that contained all information about a trip except the date. The terminal had about 400 combinations, one for each possible trip. By inserting the matrix, which looked like a mailing plate, in a ticketeer, a transaction was handled in 15 seconds. Trailways said the old process of writing all data by hand took up to five minutes.

This September 1958 image shows the inside of the first S&W Cafeteria in Richmond. It opened in Southside Plaza in late August with seating for about 300, and entrée selections such as fried chicken, roast beef and breaded veal cutlet cost 55 to 60 cents. The cafeteria had about 60 employees. A second S&W was planned for the Willow Lawn shopping center.

In September 1959, stable hand Garfield Tillman walked award-winning racehorse First Landing through Meadow Stable, the Caroline County operation of horse owner Christopher T. Chenery. First Landing, the U.S. champion 2-year-old colt in 1958, had been convalescing after an illness.

In October 1959, the rain-swollen Rivanna River flooded the Albemarle County Fairgrounds, postponing the opening of a carnival. A pelican that was part of a wildlife exhibit for the event stayed dry while tents and vehicles were under several feet of water.

In June 1959, firefighters trained at a fire pit in Williamsburg on a hot summer day. About 150 professionals and volunteers had enrolled in a firemen’s college that included field tactics and classroom sessions.

This December 1950 image shows Virginia Hall at Virginia State College (now University). The hall was completed in 1938 and dedicated in 1940. At the time it opened, it consisted of administrative offices, classrooms and a 1,740-seat auditorium.

In September 1952, tobacco farmers got their crops ready for the markets. At L. Hinton Wells’ farm in Mecklenburg County near Baskerville, the crew strung leaves and loaded sticks of tobacco onto a wagon to transport them to another barn, where they would be cured.

Completely enjoyed these... I came to Richmond in 1965 with my old Honeywell Pentax 33 mm and a sketch book and wore out both... I have a lot of pics showing building in and around VCU being raised... I also have a couple decent drawing of buildings in the Fulton neighborhood... Would be willing to share if the TD is interested... ~~~ Bob

Please keep it clean, turn off CAPS LOCK and don't threaten anyone. Be truthful, nice and proactive. Comments cannot be edited or deleted once posted. To flag a comment to the page administrator, click “report” next to that comment.

Upgrade to full digital and have unlimited access to Richmond.com. If you need assistance, call us at (800) 468-3382.

To start a new subscription or to activate digital access included in your print subscription, click the Sign Up button below. You can choose between Subscriber Plus, and receive unlimited access to Richmond.com, or Sports Plus for access to our exclusive sports coverage.

Alcohol Distilling Equipment

Upgrade to full digital and have unlimited access to Richmond.com. If you need assistance, call us at (800) 468-3382.

Upgrade to full digital and have unlimited access to Richmond.com. If you need assistance, call us at (800) 468-3382.

Complete Plant, Complete Plant Of Absolute Ethanol, Single Equipment - Keyu Zhanye,https://www.husmanalcohol.com/